Oy Bay!

"My heart is in the east, and I in the uttermost west." — Yehudah Ha-Levi

Welcome Shiduri, the newest OyBay’ster

Posted by Oyster on July 12, 2006

Shiduri

I’ve known Shiduri for a few years now, ever since when I was down in the trenches of UC Berkeley, fighting the good fight for Israel. And I’m very excited to announce that she’ll be joining the Oy Bay! team as a contributing author. Shiduri will be writing on Judaism, folk-lore, local Antisemitism, Zionism, Israel, Torah, and just about anything else that would make one say, “Oy Bay!” 🙂

Shiduri graduated from UC Berkeley in 2006 with an Interdisciplinary Studies degree focused on Middle East / Near East Studies, Peace and Conflict Studies, and folklore. Her senior thesis explored the role of the conceptual Jew as a pernicious, demonic outsider in anti-semitic folklore.

She has worked as the head factchecker and research assistant for Sandy Tolan‘s The Lemon Tree (Bloomsbury Press USA 2006) — a book which explores both the Israeli and the Palestinian narrative of the ongoing conflict.

She has taught Hebrew and religious studies at Temple Israel of Alameda since 2002, and is now a preschool teaching assistant .

12 Responses to “Welcome Shiduri, the newest OyBay’ster”

  1. shiduri said

    Todah Rabah 🙂 I’m so happy to be on-board 🙂

  2. G-D SQUAD said

    Hm… I don’t know if she’s qualified enough… (jay kay) 😉

    Shabbat shalom!

  3. rachelr said

    the area is nice but death is bad

  4. sureshg said

    Lovely blog and I really enjoyed visiting your blog!

  5. […] For those of you who have been reading Oy Bay only for a short, while, you might not recall our very first writer (aside from me’self). Well, Shiduri wants everyone to know that she’s doing well, and […]

  6. albertg said

    Hello Shiduri,

    I’m looking for a writer who can translate about 2 pages of text into Arabic—and Ladino. I prefer a writer, not just a native speaker. You can see excerpts of my writing on my website.

    Thanks so much…

  7. You are by far and away the best looking tribe member I’ve come across. Is it the water out west? My friend moved lock stock and barrel from Long Island to Oakland. He had bags under his eyes when he left. When he came to visit he became buff. I wish to follow. I’m a lyric tenor and have worked as chazan – msader kedushin. Any work out there?

  8. Oyster said

    There’s definitely something in the water here. It’s called LSD. Wait, that’s just Berkeley.

    Come on over! You’d love it in SF in the Mission Minyan. 🙂

  9. I know this is an old post but I just want to say The Lemon Tree is really really good.

  10. למה הפייג’ מעפן

  11. jose said

    I’m very interest in the picture above Unbinding Isaac

    Posted by shiduri on August 17, 2006

    I would love to know the artist’s name and the year it was made. Thanks

  12. Oyster said

    Jose, go look at the first comment of that post. :-p

Leave a Reply

 
