Oy Bay!

"My heart is in the east, and I in the uttermost west." — Yehudah Ha-Levi

Oy Bay gettin’ some love

Posted by Oyster on July 24, 2006

Aside from hearing people say this weekend “oh, I’ve heard of Oy Bay!”, former Bay Area Jewish blogger YoYenta and Oy Bay’s merry blog-mother both showed us some love.

YoYenta is a blog and also the core of a snazzy Jewish portal known as Jmerica. About the head Yenta:

Yo Yenta portrait photoAlso known as Jessica Leigh Lebos, the Head Yenta is a wife, mother, writer, spoken word poet, West African dance teacher, community activist and amateur social scientist living on the edge (geographically, religiously and financially) on the San Andreas faultline in Northern California. She’s nosy and wants to know everyone’s business but would never reveal someone’s secrets without permission. She aims to break down stereotypes about Jews in general and Jewish mothers in particular. She changes her hair color frequently.

Esther D. Kustanowitz, who I had the honor of meeting this past February at the JTB2, is a dynamic writer who runs two great Jewish blogs, in addition to her core contributions to Jewlicious. From her site:

Esther D Kustanowitz portraitI’m a mostly-undiscovered celebrity. My glamour is legendary, or will be once I get some.

I’m a karaoke superstar so renowned that Madonna’s changed her name to mine.

I’m a freelancer, which means I’m free to lance whomever I’d like.

And I write a singles column for The Jewish Week which gets me recognized at Jewish singles parties.

My other blog is http://jdatersanonymous.blogspot.com, and I’ve been known to contribute to http://jewlicious.com, as well.

And I love email.

 

Definitely visit them, and keep the love going! 🙂

2 Responses to “Oy Bay gettin’ some love”

  1. Head Yenta said

    All this love is giving me goosebumps! Are you in anyway affiliated with j. weekly?

  2. Oyster said

    Hi Head Yenta!

    No, we’re fiercely independent. 🙂 Though we are avid readers of the J as a source to find out what’s going on ‘rouond here. And any week now the J is running a story on Oy Bay! Yay!

    So if you’re no longer a Bay Area’an (?), where is YoYenta based out of nowadays?

Leave a Reply

 
