Oy Bay!

"My heart is in the east, and I in the uttermost west." — Yehudah Ha-Levi

Childhood friend, now Israeli soldier, killed in Lebanon

Posted by alilyamongthorns on August 14, 2006

When the fighting escalated, members of Hillel of Silicon Valley were on a Birthright trip in Israel. Many of my family friends and relatives, and I’m sure many of yours too, live in Haifa, Carmel and other parts of northern Israel. My childhood friends now serve in the Israeli Army.

Reading this morning’s news, I was relieved that the fighting has “ended” for now. My relatives can go back to their homes and the casualties will slow down.

Then came a phone call from my mother, “Do you remember David Bonimovitz?”

“Oh my God! What happenned?” Images of his family and his daughter Anat when she was a little girl popped into my head. David is in the reserves.

“No, it’s his nephew, Alex.” He was 19 years old. When I was a little girl in Netanya we used to take walks with my grandma. He was killed Saturday in Lebanon.

I don’t have much to say. I went through 3 drafts of this post; none seemed good enough. Neither does this one. What can capture the death of a person so young? But I wanted to share this news with you, crude as this post is, because Israel is not thousands of miles away. It’s right here and the people killed are not someone else’s children, they’re ours.

http://www.jpost.com:

Sgt. Alexander Bonimovitz, 19, of Netanya

Bonimovitz always dreamed to become an officer, and he was hoping to start officer’s training course after the war.

One month ago, he finished his tank course with a certificate of excellence.

“Perfect” is how a close friend described him.

He is survived by his parents and a brother.

There’s a picture of him on www.all4israel.org.

5 Responses to “Childhood friend, now Israeli soldier, killed in Lebanon”

  1. Oyster said

    May HaShem comfort the family of Alexander Bonimovitz among the mourners of Zion and Jerusalem… 😦

  2. Julia Reese said

    No words can descybe our grief and sorrow.
    You died as a hero defending your country and all of us.
    May you rest in peace; You will always be loved and remembered.

  3. Liz Ostrovsky said

    May you rest in peace.
    we will always love you

  4. shiduri said

    This is terrible –

  5. Michael Gankin said

    Alexander’s father, Michael, was my childhood friend. How terrible. May Alex rest in peace. Our sincere and deep condolences to the bereaved familiy. We mourn with you.

Leave a Reply

 
