Oy Bay!

"My heart is in the east, and I in the uttermost west." — Yehudah Ha-Levi

Israel Introspection

Posted by Oyster on January 7, 2007

We’re in Kiryat Gat for lunch. I’m feeling a little bit introspective right now. I don’t think that I have ever felt this comfortable in this country. With family & friends all over, I’m starting to feel less like a tourist, and more like some sort of ‘insider’. Not a sabra, but not a random traveller. When I come back, perhaps I’ll post up my published Israel poem from June Jordan’s “Poetry 4 da People” class at Berkeley. It relates my struggle with being a pseudo-Israeli. I was just talking to Elad (a guard who joined us today) about this. The classic situation: how can you have an Israeli name and not speak Hebrew? I’m interested in studying in Israel, perhaps on WUJS. More soon: back to the bus…

Leave a Reply

 
