Oy Bay!

"My heart is in the east, and I in the uttermost west." — Yehudah Ha-Levi

Let Them Eat Cake!

Posted by lchaimlover on January 31, 2007

cake.jpg

I braved my friends’ dismal reviews of Neto’s on Sunday night to watch the comedy show sponsored by Hillel and the Israel Center. I’ll leave the comedy show review to Oyster, but let me tickle your ear with a delicious story about Neto’s. Consider this the Neto’s Review, Part II. Now I had not read Oyster’s review on the café when I visited, but here it is, almost two months later, and the hummus was exactly as Oyster has described it. I tasted the falafel, the hummus, the rugelach, and the fries. I have to say that the only thing that tasted any good on the over priced menu were the fries. Not exactly an Israeli tradition, but I do appreciate good fries. Apparently the other desserts were good, but I honestly couldn’t afford to try them. But I digress, onto the story’s main course.

Oyster ordered a Mascarpone Cheese Mousse dessert, and to be honest, it looked delicious. Oyster took a few bites, and left it alone for a few minutes to take a picture with the comedy star of the evening. I was sitting at the next table over, and thinking he had abandoned the delicious looking cake, I made a comment to a friend that I wished he had given us his dessert. My friend and I went back to talking, and a bus boy began to clear Oyster’s table. When Oyster came back the bus boy had cleared the dishes and thrown the table’s trash onto the dish with Oyster’s dessert! So, with the pout of a child whose lollipop has just been stolen, Oyster explained that he wasn’t actually finished eating. The bus boy apologized and told Oyster he would get him another dessert. A few minutes later, the waiter reappears with Oyster’s dessert, the same piece of mousse that had been the receptacle for the table’s trash, neatly packaged in a plastic take out container. No, really, I’m not kidding. It was so hard to believe Oyster had to take a picture. While the Jewish atmosphere may be missing from the walls, the Jewish stereotype of cheap is apparently alive and kicking at Neto’s.


One Response to “Let Them Eat Cake!”

  1. Oyster said

    “You would cry too if it happened to you!” do-do-do-do-dooooooo.

Leave a Reply

 
