Oy Bay!

"My heart is in the east, and I in the uttermost west." — Yehudah Ha-Levi

Shi 360 at Studio 59

Posted by lchaimlover on May 3, 2007

I have discovered the newest awesomeness on the Israeli music scene, and his name is SHI 360. I went up to Studio 59 on Saturday night to celebrate Israel’s birthday along with a few hundred other young Jews. We all crammed into Schoeder’s bar, and swayed along to some lame music. Just as my friends and I wondered when the good music would

start, or as my favorite friend with a fro put it “When will they stop screwing up the good music?” Shi 360 emerged. Granted he was preceded by Killa Priest and Kosha Dillz, but they were bland on top of lame compared to Shi. Using only a bar table for a stage, he energized a hot, sweaty, annoyed crowd, and brought life to an otherwise “blech” party. Left

Studio 59 feeling I had definitely gotten my $5.90 worth, and raced home to Google Shi. If you are into Israeli hip-hop I highly recommend checking this guy out, if you like me and don’t know the difference between hip and hop, I still recommend checking this guy out.

While I hope that Studio 60 has much more to offer, I can comfort myself in the knowledge that at least my cultural awareness has been expanded.

Leave a Reply

 
