Oy Bay!

"My heart is in the east, and I in the uttermost west." — Yehudah Ha-Levi

NO! SLEEP! TILL SINAI!

Posted by Oyster on May 27, 2007

All night jam

In typical Oyster fashion, I tried to dance at three weddings at the same time(if that is nonsensical, go ask your Yiddishe bubbeh) on Shavuot. I had slated for the evening a Yom Tov dinner with LchaimLover & friends, the Reboot/Hub/PJA/Emanu-El DAWN event, and the Mission Minyan’s Tikkun Leil Shavuot.

Pictures and captions, here.

Needless to say, LchaimLover’s dinner was awesome, and it was hard to tear myself away from them. But, tear myself I did, driving up to SF from the south bay after 11 PM. A little after midnight I make it to the Swedish American Hall, after scoring some uncharacteristically easy-to-find & convenient parking in SF. I missed the bulk of the crowd by then, and some sort of awesome “Midnight ritual” performed by Amichai Lau-Lavie of STorah-telling. But it turns out that I was *right* on time to run into my old friend, Sarah Church! Sarah and I have been friends since high school, and she’s now back in the Bay Area working with the Progressive Jewish Alliance. She lead a program on exploring Jewish identity. I couldn’t resist (perhaps the RedBull didn’t help), and I spewed forth my ideology of being Jewish as a nationality / peoplehood. After rocking the boat, I realize that Miriam, a mutual friend of me and Sarah’s, was also present! In addition to running into Shira (geez, I gotta get her crazy Capoeira-fighting videos from my Birthright trip online!), and Kendra, who I know from Berkeley Hillel. Also, I finally got to meet Dan Wolf, the creative musician and director of The Hub at the SF JCC.

After Sarah’s program was done, the all-night Dawn event pretty much lost steam. I blamed the fact that most Jews who went weren’t crazy like me, and were planning on going to work the next day. I headed over to Congregation Sha’ar Zahav to join the Mission Minyan Tikkun Leil Shavuot. By using the right Shibboleth, I was able to get Jewlicious Laya to open the doors for me. I was soon caught up in serious textual study, ranging from Torah to Talmud, from body image to abortion. I’m not soon to forget arguing with David until dawn about the origins and justifications of the 7-day week. I probably have to thank JewSchool’s Sarah Lefton, Bay Area J-blogger queen, for her chocolate covered coffee beans. It turns out that my shul donated all of our old Chumashim to the Mission Minyan. Schweeet!

After a spiritual Shacharit Shavuot service, I scampered off to my car to drive home before the street sweeping at 9 AM fetched me another ticket. In retrospect, I should have “crashed” at someone’s place in SF, instead of attempting to drive over a hour back home on no sleep. I think I might have been close to getting into an accident twice. Yikes! Then, I went to sleep at 8:30 AM and woke up at 7 PM. 🙂 Obviously this really screwed up my sleeping schedule. Probably explains me getting my Torah on in the wee hours.

Leave a Reply

 
