Oy Bay!

"My heart is in the east, and I in the uttermost west." — Yehudah Ha-Levi

Jewish Niners, anyone?

Posted by jlifer on August 2, 2007

I found myself today at the 49ers training camp today, invited by an Israeli friend of mine with a built-in magnet for trouble. Just as she and I were chatting a bit, not paying attention to the football being practiced on the field, some yells vocalized and a ball landed on my friend’s face, and bounced onto my shoulder. Within minutes, the paramedics were examining her slightly wounded face, and the incident eventually led the whole group of us (five women in total) to the special VIP section set up for friends and family of the players. We had one PR person at our disposal, and as I was going through the roster, deciding which players I wanted an autograph from, my Jew-dar went off. Nick Steitz, #62, could be Jewish. As could Joe Cohen, #76.

Unfortunately, the NFL doesn’t require players disclose that sort of information, but I’m determined to find out. In the meantime, I got an autograph from 49ers QB hunk Alex Smith, who I will add to my list of “Boy, I wish these hot politicians athletes were Jewish.” See more at The J Life blog.

I don’t know much about sports, but I know a tight end when I see one. I had never heard of football in general, let alone Niners quarterback Alex Smith before today, but now I am forever a fan. In fact, I think I’m all the fonder of sports in general. I’ll definitely be heading up to SF next Wednesday, Aug. 8, with SVYAD and some others to watch the Giants play (baseball, that is).

alexsmithsmall.jpg

7 Responses to “Jewish Niners, anyone?”

  1. andrw9r said

    i believe in fact Joe Cohen is Jewish, but i am unsure about Steintz. Unfortunetly despite the fact of being a mid-rd pick it looks like Joe will have his work cut out for him if he wants to see the playing field this year.

    I will be pulling for him, b/c we havent had a tribesman play a successful role on the team since good ole’ #79 Harris Barton

  2. […] by whitefrodude on August 9th, 2007 So in response to JLifer’s post about dating non-Jews because they are hot I compiled a list of the top ten (according to me) hot […]

  3. bob smith said

    You are all so funny…mommies won’t let us be men and then we’re surprised when it’s like trying to find a needle in a haystack in pro sports to find a Jewish guy. And you find yourselves “wishing” that so-and-so was Jewish (he’s not).
    clumsy and anxious in Brooklyn
    Robert

  4. Ariel Segal said

    You stupids jewish,ur womans are ugly, your whole people are murders, cynicals, and stupids, Sometimes I wish Hitler would’ve finish his job, an exterminate for once and for all, all you scums,because you people are the Nº 1 racist in the world, killing innocent people; by calling yourself jewish instead of americans o whatever, u show your true colors, hope someday you people became normal,stop calling urself jewish, and forget about stupids things,and leave the east people alone and stop killing them U murders.

  5. Louis said

    Have you ever considered creating an ebook or guest authoring on other blogs? I have a blog based upon on the same ideas you discuss and would love to have you share some stories/information. I know my audience would value your work. If you’re even remotely interested, feel free to shoot me an e mail.

  6. Brandy said

    Hey! I could have sworn I’ve been to this site before but after browsing through some of the post I realized it’s new to me. Anyhow, I’m definitely happy I found it and I’ll be book-marking and checking back frequently!

  7. Judith said

    I enjoy what you guys tend to be up too. This type of clever work and exposure! Keep up the excellent works guys I’ve added you guys to my own blogroll.

Leave a Reply

 
