Oy Bay!

"My heart is in the east, and I in the uttermost west." — Yehudah Ha-Levi

Can I have a light (I don’t mean for Shabbas Candles) ?

Posted by whitefrodude on August 12, 2007

Shmuley Boteach smokingAccording to the Israeli Ministry of Health, 30% of Israeli’s are smokers. Now since the majority of Israelis are Jews this means that quite of bit of Jews smoke. In addition to these smokin’ Jews you also have the many Jews around the world who choose to smoke. And don’t forget the tons and tons of hookah smokers among us all. Enough stats for now, we will get back to them later.

Now at one point in time I did attend the weekly Chabad study sessions. At one of these sessions we discussed a portion of the Torah (Deuteronomy to be exact) and the Rabbi was explaining a passage in which G-D says “I have set before you life and death, blessing and cursing: therefore choose life” Now this passage pretty much explains itself. The Rabbi went into more detail about how Jews cannot do things that will either kill them or shorten their life.

This leads us back to the statistics above. If smoking shortens lives and end lives, then why do so many Jews do it? The answer I received was a short one. The Rabbi looked at me and gave me a simple, “because we are all not perfect Jews”. Now why I think this was a easy way of avoiding the real answer, could it actually be the only answer I could get? So what do you think? Are you a smoker, and in turn a “not perfect Jew”? While I await your responses I think I’ll step outside and have a puff of my bubble pipe.

2 Responses to “Can I have a light (I don’t mean for Shabbas Candles) ?”

  1. Liron Kopinsky said

    http://www.rabbis.org/news/article.cfm?id=100808

  2. Oyster said

    Hey, good link, Liron. I’m glad that some orthodox Jews believe that Halakha can change with the times…

    I wonder if this will compel R. Shmuley Boteach (pictured above) to stop chomping dem stogies. Otherwise, we’ll have to rename “Shalom in the Home” to “Leukemia in the Lungs”.

Leave a Reply

 
