Oy Bay!

"My heart is in the east, and I in the uttermost west." — Yehudah Ha-Levi

The Rest of America

Posted by lchaimlover on October 12, 2007

Once upon a time I lived in many different places. “The rest of America” as I like to call it. You know, the red states, the out of the way ho-dunk towns that got Bush elected…twice. And while we squabble about what it is to be a Jew, or a Zionist, or about whose version of Judaism is right, or whatever else we Jews love to argue about, there are around 290,000,000 other people out there. And I’m not so sure that all of them like us that much.

to-love-a-fellow-jew.jpg

 Ann Coulter was quoted as saying: “We just want Jews to be perfected, as they say…That is what Christianity is. We believe the Old Testament, but ours is more like Federal Express.”

Rabbi Modechai Moscowitz was assualted in Lakewood, New Jersey in what appears to be a hate crime.

When I googled Jew, and looked under Images, the first picture was of Jaws coming out the water to eat Jews. The picture brought me to a white-supremacist site.

And that was just in the past 24 hours.

Now, for you overly P.C. Californians amongst us, I am not saying everyone hates us nor am I saying look at the poor Jews. I am simply pointing out that we are a minority, and to further divide ourselves in bickering that has no resolution, won’t really solve any problems. So feel free to continue your philosophical conversation “Jew: To be or Not to Be and Why?” at Shabbos lunch.  But remember, if we don’t start with unity, it’s going to be a hellava road.

7 Responses to “The Rest of America”

  1. AaronfromWG said

    My dad was on a business trip and met a women who was surprised he didn’t have horns. This was about 30 years ago but the lady was serious. I forgot which state it was. Maybe Tennessee or Kentucky. Not even the deep South. Silly goyim.

  2. AaronfromWG said

    I watched the Ann Coulter thing on Youtube. She is a sh*t. I know it is not a healthy desire but I hope she dies.

  3. Arthur said

    When the Arab armys were massing in 1948 the combined arab task force asked a leader in tunis why he was not sending forces. This Arab’s response was interesting he said, “Why should we bother? If we leave them alone they will destroy themselves.”

    We do need to combine and unite that should be Tzav HaSha’a – the order of the day for all Jews.

  4. Steve said

    I don’t know if Coulter was stating her beliefs or merely trying to get people riled up. Either way, she shouldn’t have said what she did.

    One think that I haven’t seen pointed out, or maybe I haven’t read enough, is that she is advocating replacement theology. Basically that the Jews rejected Jesus, so Israel and the Jews have been replaced by the Church and Christians. Grace replaced the Torah (the Law, bad translation, I know). “If you love me you will keep my commandments” somehow doesn’t translate into obeying Torah in the minds of Christians. Anyone with a desire to study Jewish and Christian history will easily find out where that kind of thinking led: Accusing Jews of committing deicide, poisoning wells, desecrating hosts, treating them like dirt, forcing them into ghettos, etc.

    Unfortunately, that kind of thinking is still alive and well in America’s churches.

    Mere Rhetoric has weighed in on this as well.

  5. Steve said

    Er, one think = one thing.

  6. Oyster said

    LchaimLover:

    I couldn’t agree more with your message of Kol Yisrael. Umein v’umein.

    Steve:

    I definitely have chimed in with reference to Replacement Theology. Perhaps not on this post, though.

  7. Oyster said

    Klal Yisrael, rather.

Leave a Reply

 
