Oy Bay!

"My heart is in the east, and I in the uttermost west." — Yehudah Ha-Levi

General Assembly and University of Tennessee Basketball Coach Bruce Pearl

Posted by whitefrodude on November 15, 2007

I am back from my great trip to Nashville and before I give you a review of how it went let me say that if any of you ever have the opportunity to go to this conference, take it. I can easily say that the General Assembly was the best conference I have been to and the things I learned, the people I met, and the opportunities that are now available are priceless.

 

The first speaker I would like to tell you all about was by far not the biggest name at the conference nor did anyone think he was Jewish until he opened his speech with Shalom Ya’ll!!  This speaker was the men’s basketball coach at the University of Tennessee, Bruce Pearl. (Yes below is a picture of Bruce Pearl himself)

 

 

Bruce was such an amazing speaker that my mission statement for life changed solely because of him.  As I mentioned above he began his speech with Shalom Ya’ll and his humorous and engaging speech did not stop there.  Bruce told us about what being a Jew in Tennessee is like even though 99% of people don’t know he is Jewish. The most inspirational part of his speech was when Bruce talked about working towards your future. To sum it all up I will use my new mission statement on life, “Take the things that I am good at, and become great.” His main point was that in order to become great at something you have to be good at it first then just work hard and make those good things great. 

 

You can see Bruce Pearl’s speech here.

http://www.jerusalemonline.com/4israel21.asp

 

Stay tuned tomorrow where I will be reviewing Academy Award Winning Director Ari Sandel as well as U.S. Secretary of State, Dr. Condoleezza Rice.

2 Responses to “General Assembly and University of Tennessee Basketball Coach Bruce Pearl”

  1. Oyster said

    WFD, is that you standing at the back of that pic? :-p

    Oh, did you meet Esther Kustanowitz? Or Dan Sieradski?

  2. whitefrodude said

    It could be. I am everywhere.

    I heard Esther speak but did not meet her or Dan.

Leave a Reply

 
