Oy Bay!

"My heart is in the east, and I in the uttermost west." — Yehudah Ha-Levi

Chevruta Bnei Noah

Posted by kneidalach on March 8, 2008

I just heard about this group and wanted to share

 So apperantly it’s a non-Jewish group who believe in one God and all that, follow the 7 laws of Noah and study Judaism. Visit their website for more info.

Isn’t it kind of cool? Wouldn’t it be such a healthier religion then Christianity is?

What do you think?

2 Responses to “Chevruta Bnei Noah”

  1. Friar Yid said

    I’d think it was cooler if the whole thing wasn’t a recent invention pretending to have an ancient pedigree. I’m also torn by the fact that most of the people involved in promoting the Noahide movement seem to be on the outward fringe of the Haredi world (specifically Chabad and Breslov), and therefore the Noahide movement seems to skew heavily rightward both on matters of politics as well as interpretations of Judaism. I’d be more comfortable if it seemed like the Noahides were actually independent and consisted of a larger spectrum rather than just being pet projects of certain groups of Orthodox Jews, some of whom admit that they view “encouraging” more Bnei Noach as a more kosher form of proselytizing.

    I like that there is a framework within Orthodoxy (or at least, certain groups of Orthodox Jews) that can embrace and accept Gentiles. I like that Noahidism has nothing that inherently sets off my red flag alert. But as far as your comparison to Christianity goes- I’m unconvinced that it is immune from the same problems and twisting that have affected Christianity in the past and which continue to trouble and affect various denominations through to the present day.

    So much depends on their leaders and thinkers. Right now it seems that a few Orthodox folk are doing all the thinking for them. I think I have to wait and see on this one.

  2. Meidalle said

    I wasn’t aware that Chabad was so active in teaching and promoting Noahism to non Jews. Thank you for inserting that wikipedia link 😉

Leave a Reply

 
