Oy Bay!

"My heart is in the east, and I in the uttermost west." — Yehudah Ha-Levi

Everywhere I look I see (Silver) Jews

Posted by Oyster on July 1, 2008

I thought that I was taking a break from my Hebraico-centric perusing tendencies, whipping out my SF-political cartoon edition of the SF Weekly. Finally, me’thinks, I can read what the goyim think about! But very soon after my leisurely reading had commenced, I stumbled upon the Silver Jews [Wikipedia] [MySpace]. The only clue about their odd name is the following:

… country music should be a natural fit to back the brainy, brooding verbiage of published poet David Berman, frontman for the Silver Jews.

Somebody please call Kinky Friedman & the Texas Jewboys, I think he could use some good NY Jewish lawyers (as my non-Jewish former co-worker was fond of saying… creepy). Ok, ok, that’s not fair. I haven’t even listened to their stuff! But check them out, sounds interesting.

Leave a Reply

 
