Oy Bay!

"My heart is in the east, and I in the uttermost west." — Yehudah Ha-Levi

The Jewish New Media Network

Posted by Oyster on July 9, 2008

Some of you might be wondering where I’ve been as of late. I haven’t written much lately. And I have so much to tell! With a recent trip to Brazil, and participation in this year’s ROI Summit in Jerusalem, I have no shortage of stories to impart upon our loyal readers.

The short answer is that I’ve been working hard to try to take Oy Bay to the next level. A year and a half ago, I was discussing the state of Oy Bay with some close colleagues of mine. I realized that I had reached a cusp where at the same time that our readership & significance as a news source in the Bay Area Jewish community was growing apace, so was the responsibility and time-commitment involved. I realized that either I had to do something to make Oy Bay a more substantial organization, or I would just maintain the status quo, the site wouldn’t grow and I would most likely lose interest as some other project won my attention, and allow the site to slowly die.

Thankfully for you, the former prevailed. 🙂

I haven’t been writing because with the paucity of time I have to moonlight on this (yes, sports-fans, I do have a day-job!), I’ve been devoting more & more of my time to what might be called “business development”. Though don’t get any hasty notions; we are non-profit (queue the broke jokes) and strongly believe in carrying on a mission of Jewish news media that is independent, non-profit, and in a digital medium.

The so-called parent organization for Oy Bay is known as the Jewish New Media Network. From there we will blog about new blogs & websites that are joining our team, along with any updates about our organization. We might even throw in a few articles that do some belly-button gazing about the state of Jewish journalism (especially of the online kind). What is the point of the JNMN? Well, imagine it like the Corporation for Public Broadcasting, but for heebs.

One of the goals of the JNMN is to create “Oy Bay-like” sites in different Jewish neighborhoods & regions throughout the US (and eventually in other countries). With that in mind, we are aggressively seeking out new talent in those markets to help us establish legitimate & authentic local media. If you can write or can manage a mean website, definitely drop us a line at jnewsie<at>jnmn.org.

Leave a Reply

 
