Oy Bay!

"My heart is in the east, and I in the uttermost west." — Yehudah Ha-Levi

Grief in short: Eldad & Ehud

Posted by shanamaidel on July 23, 2008

A little more than two yeas ago, Israel started the Second Lebanon War because of the capture of Eldad Regev and Ehud Goldwasser. Honoring their commitment to never leave a soldier (or their remains) behind, the war really ended today.

The shock-waves are finally hitting.

Throughout the blogsphere, I see large amounts of shock and anger. As a group, we seemed to be mired in anger of grief.

I see anger at the Israeli government. I see anger at the Lebanese prisoners, who committed horrible acts of murder. I see anger at Hezbollah, and Lebanon. I even see anger at Israelis for being apathetic, at the least. (For more, click here.)

The anger spirals into nowhere, as the people who write vent out more frustration. Even though we are all sure of the need to honor the dead, none of us, are sure of when they died, how they died, if they could have us, or could have been one of our friends or relatives, or if the price to see two black coffins was worth it, after seeing the images flash on our screens of various sizes for the first time.

When I look through these posts, the one thing I don’t see: acceptance of what is colloquially know as “the situation” in Israel. Instead I see another breath of anger.

Not just for Eldad Regev and Ehud Goldwasser: for the hundreds who died in terror attacks, For the even more who died in battle, for the dream of how Israel is supposed to be in our heads, and for our own human frailties.

We have to accept. We can only work with the clay we are given. Until we accept it, we can not mold it into a more positive future. And that is what scares me most about “the situation.” On some level, I don’t even know how even I can accept.

I’m still only starting to grieve myself.

Baruch Dayan Emet.

Leave a Reply

 
