Oy Bay!

"My heart is in the east, and I in the uttermost west." — Yehudah Ha-Levi

New kosher-style Montreal’er bagel shop in East Bay

Posted by Oyster on August 10, 2011

Yes, Izzy’s is kosh, but East Coast transplant Jews need to be fed, or they get grumpy. And there’s only one Izzy’s. Other recommended eateries are Kat’z in SF (two locations), House of Bagels (SF), and the Bagelry (Santa Cruz). I think Yelp had a few more recommended. But here’s one more to the list, and for the gourmets out there, the Montreal’er bagel is supposed to be a distinct and competitive bagel to the NY kind. Enjoy!

Q&A with Blake Joffe of Beauty’s Bagel Shop
East Bay Express
I started at Delfina right away, first day I moved here. Matt [Matthew Gandin], the chef de cuisine there, is Jewish. I said, “Hey Matt, where can I get a good bagel in the Bay Area?” and he said, “Pah, there aren’t any.” I thought, This is a culinary
See all stories on this topic »

East Bay Express
Leave a Reply

 
